反应式宣言

宣言词汇表

异步

牛津词典把“asynchronous(异步的)”定义为“不同时存在或发生的”。 在本宣言的上下文中, 我们的意思是: 在来自客户端的请求被发送到了服务端之后, 对于该请求的处理可以发生这之后的任意时间点。 对于发生在服务内部的执行过程, 客户端不能直接对其进行观察, 或者与之同步。 这是同步处理(synchronous processing)的反义词, 同步处理意味着客户端只能在服务已经处理完成该请求之后, 才能恢复它自己的执行。

回压

当某个组件正竭力维持响应能力时, 系统作为一个整体就需要以合理的方式作出反应。 对于正遭受压力的组件来说, 无论是灾难性地失败, 还是不受控地丢弃消息, 都是不可接受的。 既然它既不能(成功地)应对(压力), 又不能(直接地)失败, 那么它就应该向其上游组件传达其正在遭受压力的事实, 并让它们(该组件的上游组件)降低负载。 这种回压(back-pressure)是一种重要的反馈机制, 使得系统得以优雅地响应负载, 而不是在负载下崩溃。 回压可以一路扩散到(系统的)用户, 在这时即时响应性可能会有所降低, 但是这种机制将确保系统在负载之下具有回弹性 , 并将提供信息,从而允许系统本身通过利用其他资源来帮助分发负载,参见弹性

批量处理

当前计算机为反复执行同一项任务而进行了优化: 在(CPU的)时钟频率保持不变的情况下, 指令缓存和分支预测增加了每秒可以被处理的指令数。 这就意味着,快速连续地将不同的任务递交给相同的CPU核心,将并不能获益于本有可能得到的完全(最高利用率的)性能: 如果有可能,我们应该这样构造应用程序, 它的执行逻辑在不同的任务之间交替的频率更低。 这就意味着可以成批地处理一组数据元素, 这也可能意味可以在专门的硬件线程(指CPU的逻辑核心)上执行不同处理步骤。

同样的道理也适用于对于需要同步和协调的外部资源的使用。 当从单一线程(即CPU核心)发送指令, 而不是从所有的CPU核心争夺带宽时, 由持久化存储设备所提供的I/O带宽将可以得到显著提高。 使用单一入口的额外的效益,即多个操作可以被重新排序, 从而更好地适应设备的最佳访问模式(当今的存储设备的线性存取性能要优于随机存取的性能)。

此外, 批量处理还提供了分摊昂贵操作(如I/O)或者昂贵计算的成本的机会。 例如, 将多个数据项打包到同一个网络数据包或者磁盘存储块中, 从而提高效能并降低使用率。

组件

我们所描述的是一个模块化的软件架构, 它(实际上)是一个非常古老的概念, 参见Parnas(1972)。 我们使用“组件(component)”(参见 C.2.8)这个术语, 因为它和“隔间(compartment)”联系紧密, 其意味着每个组件都是自包含的、封闭的并和其他的组件相隔离。 这个概念首先适用于系统的运行时特征, 但是它通常也会反映在源代码的模块化结构中。 虽然不同的组件可能会使用相同的软件模块来执行通用的任务, 但是定义了每个组件的顶层行为的程序代码则是组件本身的一个模块。 组件边界通常与问题域中的有界上下文(BoundedContext)紧密对齐。 这意味着,系统设计倾向于反应问题域, 并因此在保持隔离的同时也更加容易演化。 消息协议为多个有界上下文(组件)之间提供了自然的映射和通信层。

委托

将任务异步地委托给另一个#组件意味着该任务将会在另一个组件的上下文中被执行, 举几个可能的情况: 这个被委托的内容甚至可能意味着运行在不同的错误处理上下文里,属于不同的线程,来自不同的进程,甚至在不同的网络节点上。 委托的目的是将处理某个任务的职责移交给另外一个组件, 以便发起委托的组件可以执行其他的处理、 或者有选择性地观察被委托的任务的进度, 以防需要执行额外的操作(如处理失败或者报告进度)。

弹性(与“可伸缩性”对照)

弹性意味着当资源根据需求按比例地减少或者增加时, 系统的吞吐量将自动地向下或者向上缩放, 从而满足不同的需求。系统需要具有可伸缩性, 以使得其可以从运行时动态地添加或者删除资源中获益。 因此,弹性是建立在可伸缩性的基础之上的, 并通过添加自动的资源管理概念对其进行了扩充。

失败(和“错误”相对照)

失败是一种服务内部的意外事件, 会阻止服务继续正常地运行。 失败通常会阻止对于当前的、 并可能所有接下来的客户端请求的响应。 和错误相对照, 错误是意料之中的,并且针各种情况进行了处理( 例如, 在输入验证的过程中所发现的错误), 将会作为该消息的正常处理过程的一部分返回给客户端。 而失败是意料之外的, 并且在系统能够恢复至(和之前)相同的服务水平之前,需要进行干预。 这并不意味着失败总是致命的(fatal), 虽然在失败发生之后, 系统的某些服务能力可能会被降低。 错误是正常操作流程预期的一部分, 在错误发生之后, 系统将会立即地对其进行处理, 并将继续以相同的服务能力继续运行。

失败的例子有: 硬件故障、 由于致命的资源耗尽而引起的进程意外终止,以及导致系统内部状态损坏的程序缺陷。

隔离(和“遏制”相对照)

隔离可以定义为在时间和空间上的解耦。 在时间上解耦意味着发送者和接收者可以拥有独立的生命周期—— 它们不需要同时存在,从而使得相互通信成为可能。 通过在组件之间添加异步边界, 以及通过消息传递实现了这一点。 在空间上解耦(定义为位置透明性)意味着发送者和接收者不必运行在同一个进程中。 不管运维部门或者运行时本身决策的部署结构是多么的高效——在应用程序的生命周期之内,这一切都可能会发生改变。

真正的隔离超出了大多数面向对象的编程语言中的常见的封装概念, 并使得我们可以对下述内容进行划分和遏制:

  • 状态和行为:它支持无共享的设计,并最大限度地减少了竞争和一致性成本(如通用伸缩性原则Universal Scalability Law中所定义的);
  • 失败:它支持在细粒度上捕获、发出失败信号以及管理失败, 而不是将其扩散(cascade)到其他组件。

组件之间的强隔离性是建立在明确定义的协议的通信之上的, 并支持解耦, 从而使得系统更加容易被理解、扩展、测试和演化。

位置透明性

弹性系统需要能够自适应, 并不间断地对需求的变化做出反应。 它们需要优雅而高效地扩大或者缩减(部署)规模。 极大地简化这个问题的一个关键洞察是:认识到我们一直都在处理分布式计算。 无论我们是在一台单独的(具有多个独立CPU,并通过快速通道互联(QPI)通信的)节点之上, 还是在一个(具有多台通过网络进行通信的独立节点的)机器集群之上运行我们的系统, 都是如此。 拥抱这一事实意味着, 在多核心之上进行垂直缩放和在集群之上进行水平伸缩并没有什么概念上的差异。

如果我们所有的组件都支持移动性, 而本地通信只是一项优化。 那么我们根本不需要预先定义一个静态的系统拓扑和部署结构。 可以将这个决策留给运维人员或者运行时, 让他(它)们其可以根据系统的使用情况来对其进行调整和优化。

这种通过异步的消息传递实现的在空间上的(请参见隔离的定义)解耦, 以及将运行时实例和它们的引用解耦,就是我们所谓的位置透明性。 位置透明性通常被误认为是“透明的分布式计算”, 然而实际上恰恰相反: 我们拥抱网络, 以及它所有的约束——如部分失败、 网络分裂、 消息丢失, 以及它的异步性和与生俱来的基于消息的性质,并将它们作为编程模型中的一等公民, 而不是尝试在网络上模拟进程内的方法调用(如RPC、XA等)。 我们对于位置透明性的观点与Waldo等人著的A Note On Distributed Computing 中的观点完全一致。

消息驱动(与“事件驱动”对照)

消息是指发送到特定目的地的一组特定数据, 事件是组件在达到了某个给定状态时所发出的信号。 在消息驱动的系统中, 可寻址的接收者等待消息的到来, 并对消息做出反应, 否则只是休眠(即异步非阻塞地等待消息的到来)。 而在事件驱动的系统中, 通知监听器被附加到了事件源, 以便在事件被发出时调用它们(指回调)。 这也就意味着, 事件驱动的系统关注于可寻址的事件源, 而消息驱动的系统则着重于可寻址的接收者。 消息可以包含编码为它的有效载荷的事件。

由于事件消耗链的短暂性, 所以在事件驱动的系统中很难实现回弹性 : 当处理过程已经就绪,监听器已经设置好, 以便于响应结果并对结果进行变换时, 这些监听器通常都将直接地处理成功或者失败, 并向原始的客户端报告执行结果。(这些监听器)响应组件的失败, 以便于恢复它(指失败的组件)的正常功能,而在另外一方面, 需要处理的是那些并没有与短暂的客户端请求捆绑在一起的, 但是影响了整个组件的健康状况的失败。

非阻塞的

在并发编程中, 如果争夺资源的线程并没有被保护该资源的互斥所无限期地推迟执行, 那么该算法则被认为是非阻塞的。 在实践中, 这通常缩影为一个 API, 当资源可用时, 该API将允许访问该资源, 否则它将会立即地返回, 并通知调用者该资源当前不可用, 或者该操作已经启动了,但是尚未完成。 某个资源的非阻塞 API 使得其调用者可以进行其他操作, 而不是被阻塞以等待该资源变为可用。 此外,还可以通过允许资源的客户端注册, 以便让其在资源可用时,或者操作已经完成时获得通知。

协议

协议定义了在组件之间交换或者传输消息的方法与规范。 协议由会话参与者之间的关系、 协议的累计状态以及允许发送的消息集所构成。 这意味着, 协议描述了会话参与者在何时可以发送什么样的消息给另外一个会话参与者。 协议可以按照其消息交换的形式进行分类, 一些常见的类型是:请求——响应模式、 重复的请求——响应模式(如 HTTP 中)、 发布——订阅模式、 以及(反应式)流模式(同时包含(动态地)推送和拉取)。

和本地编程接口相比, 协议则更加通用, 因为它可以包含两个以上的参与者, 并且可以预见到消息交换的进展, 而接口仅仅指定了调用者和接收者之间每次一次的交互过程。

需要注意的是, 这里所定义的协议只指定了可能会发送什么样的消息, 而不是它们应该如何被编码、解码(即编解码), 而且对于使用该协议的组件来说,传输机制是透明的。

复制

在不同的地方同时地执行一个组件被称为复制。 这可能意味着在不同的线程或者线程池、 进程、 网络节点或者计算中心中执行。 复制提供了可伸缩性(传入的工作负载将会被分布发到跨组件的多个实例中) 以及回弹性 (传入的工作负载将会被复制到多个并行地处理相同请求的多个实例中)。 这些方式可以结合使用, 例如, 在确保该组件的某个确定用户的所有相关事务都将由两个实例执行的同时, 实例的总数则又根据传入的负载而变化,(参见 弹性)。

在复制有状态的组件时,必须要小心同步副本之间的状态数据,否则该组件的客户则需要知道同步的模式,并且还违反了封装的目的。通常,同步方案的选择需要在一致性和可用性之间进行权衡,如果允许被复制的副本可以在有限的时间段内不一致(最终一致性),那么将会得到最佳的可用性,同时,完美的一致性则要求所有的复制副本以一种步调一致(lock-step)的方式来推进它们的状态。在这两种“极端”之间存在着一系列的可能解决方案,所以每个组件都应该选择最适合于其需要的方式。

资源

组件执行其功能所依赖的一切都是资源, 资源必须要根据组件的需要而进行调配。 这包括 CPU 的分配、 内存以及持久化存储以及网络带宽、 内存带宽、 CPU 缓存、 内部插座的 CPU 链接、 可靠的计时器以及任务调度服务、 其他的输入和输出设备、 外部服务(如数据库或者网络文件系统等)等等。 所有的这些资源都必须要考虑到 弹性和回弹性 , 因为缺少必需的资源将妨碍组件在被需要时发挥正常作用。

可伸缩性

一个系统通过利用更多的计算资源来提升其性能的能力, 是通过系统吞吐量的提升比上资源所增加的比值来衡量的。 一个完美的可伸缩性系统的特点是这两个数字是成正比的。 所分配的资源加倍也将使得吞吐量翻倍。 可伸缩性通常受限于系统中所引入的瓶颈或者同步点, 参见Amdahl 定律以及 Gunther 的通用可伸缩模型( Amdahl’s Law and Gunther’s Universal Scalability Model)

系统

系统为它的用户或者客户端提供服务。 系统可大可小, 它们可以包含许多组件或者只有少数几个组件(参见 C.2.4)。 系统中的所有组件相互协作,从而提供这些服务。 在很多情况下, 位于相同系统中的多个组件之间,具有某种客户端——服务端的对应关系(例如,考虑一下,前端组件依赖于后端组件)。 一个系统中共享着一种通用的回弹性模型, 意即, 某个组件的失败将会在该系统的内部得到处理, 并由一个组件委托给另外一个组件。 如果系统中的某系列组件的功能、资源或者失败模型都和系统中的其余部分相互隔离, 那么将这一系列的组件看作是系统的子系统将更有利于系统设计。

用户

我们使用这个术语来非正式地指代某个服务的任何消费者,可以是人类或者其他服务。

↑ 回到网页顶部

The Reactive Manifesto



The Oxford Dictionary defines asynchronous as “not existing or occurring at the same time”. In the context of this manifesto we mean that the processing of a request occurs at an arbitrary point in time, sometime after it has been transmitted from client to service. The client cannot directly observe, or synchronize with, the execution that occurs within the service. This is the antonym of synchronous processing which implies that the client only resumes its own execution once the service has processed the request.


When one component is struggling to keep-up, the system as a whole needs to respond in a sensible way. It is unacceptable for the component under stress to fail catastrophically or to drop messages in an uncontrolled fashion. Since it can’t cope and it can’t fail it should communicate the fact that it is under stress to upstream components and so get them to reduce the load. This back-pressure is an important feedback mechanism that allows systems to gracefully respond to load rather than collapse under it. The back-pressure may cascade all the way up to the user, at which point responsiveness may degrade, but this mechanism will ensure that the system is resilient under load, and will provide information that may allow the system itself to apply other resources to help distribute the load, see Elasticity.


Current computers are optimized for the repeated execution of the same task: instruction caches and branch prediction increase the number of instructions that can be processed per second while keeping the clock frequency unchanged. This means that giving different tasks to the same CPU core in rapid succession will not benefit from the full performance that could otherwise be achieved: if possible we should structure the program such that its execution alternates less frequently between different tasks. This can mean processing a set of data elements in batches, or it can mean performing different processing steps on dedicated hardware threads.

The same reasoning applies to the use of external resources that need synchronization and coordination. The I/O bandwidth offered by persistent storage devices can improve dramatically when issuing commands from a single thread (and thereby CPU core) instead of contending for bandwidth from all cores. Using a single entry point has the added advantage that operations can be reordered to better suit the optimal access patterns of the device (current storage devices perform better for linear than random access).

Additionally, batching provides the opportunity to share out the cost of expensive operations such as I/O or expensive computations. For example, packing multiple data items into the same network packet or disk block to increase efficiency and reduce utilisation.


What we are describing is a modular software architecture, which is a very old idea, see for example Parnas (1972). We are using the term “component” due to its proximity with compartment, which implies that each component is self-contained, encapsulated and isolated from other components. This notion applies foremost to the runtime characteristics of the system, but it will typically also be reflected in the source code’s module structure as well. While different components might make use of the same software modules to perform common tasks, the program code that defines the top-level behavior of each component is then a module of its own. Component boundaries are often closely aligned with Bounded Contexts in the problem domain. This means that the system design tends to reflect the problem domain and so is easy to evolve, while retaining isolation. Message protocols provide a natural mapping and communications layer between Bounded Contexts (components).


Delegating a task asynchronously to another component means that the execution of the task will take place in the context of that other component. This delegated context could entail running in a different error handling context, on a different thread, in a different process, or on a different network node, to name a few possibilities. The purpose of delegation is to hand over the processing responsibility of a task to another component so that the delegating component can perform other processing or optionally observe the progress of the delegated task in case additional action is required such as handling failure or reporting progress.

Elasticity (in contrast to Scalability)

Elasticity means that the throughput of a system scales up or down automatically to meet varying demand as resource is proportionally added or removed. The system needs to be scalable (see Scalability) to allow it to benefit from the dynamic addition, or removal, of resources at runtime. Elasticity therefore builds upon scalability and expands on it by adding the notion of automatic resource management.

Failure (in contrast to Error)

A failure is an unexpected event within a service that prevents it from continuing to function normally. A failure will generally prevent responses to the current, and possibly all following, client requests. This is in contrast with an error, which is an expected and coded-for condition—for example an error discovered during input validation, that will be communicated to the client as part of the normal processing of the message. Failures are unexpected and will require intervention before the system can resume at the same level of operation. This does not mean that failures are always fatal, rather that some capacity of the system will be reduced following a failure. Errors are an expected part of normal operations, are dealt with immediately and the system will continue to operate at the same capacity following an error.

Examples of failures are hardware malfunction, processes terminating due to fatal resource exhaustion, program defects that result in corrupted internal state.

Isolation (and Containment)

Isolation can be defined in terms of decoupling, both in time and space. Decoupling in time means that the sender and receiver can have independent life-cycles—they do not need to be present at the same time for communication to be possible. It is enabled by adding asynchronous boundaries between the components, communicating through message-passing. Decoupling in space (defined as Location Transparency) means that the sender and receiver do not have to run in the same process, but wherever the operations division or the runtime itself decides is most efficient—which might change during an application's lifetime.

True isolation goes beyond the notion of encapsulation found in most object-oriented languages and gives us compartmentalization and containment of:

  • State and behavior: it enables share-nothing designs and minimizes contention and coherence cost (as defined in the Universal Scalability Law);
  • Failures: it allows failures to be captured, signalled and managed at a fine-grained level instead of letting them cascade to other components.

Strong isolation between components is built on communication over well-defined protocols and enables loose coupling, leading to systems that are easier to understand, extend, test and evolve.

Location Transparency

Elastic systems need to be adaptive and continuously react to changes in demand, they need to gracefully and efficiently increase and decrease scale. One key insight that simplifies this problem immensely is to realize that we are all doing distributed computing. This is true whether we are running our systems on a single node (with multiple independent CPUs communicating over the QPI link) or on a cluster of nodes (with independent machines communicating over the network). Embracing this fact means that there is no conceptual difference between scaling vertically on multicore or horizontally on the cluster.

If all of our components support mobility, and local communication is just an optimization, then we do not have to define a static system topology and deployment model upfront. We can leave this decision to the operations personnel and the runtime, which can adapt and optimize the system depending on how it is used.

This decoupling in space (see the the definition for Isolation), enabled through asynchronous message-passing, and decoupling of the runtime instances from their references is what we call Location Transparency. Location Transparency is often mistaken for 'transparent distributed computing', while it is actually the opposite: we embrace the network and all its constraints—like partial failure, network splits, dropped messages, and its asynchronous and message-based nature—by making them first class in the programming model, instead of trying to emulate in-process method dispatch on the network (ala RPC, XA etc.). Our view of Location Transparency is in perfect agreement with A Note On Distributed Computing by Waldo et al.

Message-Driven (in contrast to Event-Driven)

A message is an item of data that is sent to a specific destination. An event is a signal emitted by a component upon reaching a given state. In a message-driven system addressable recipients await the arrival of messages and react to them, otherwise lying dormant. In an event-driven system notification listeners are attached to the sources of events such that they are invoked when the event is emitted. This means that an event-driven system focuses on addressable event sources while a message-driven system concentrates on addressable recipients. A message can contain an encoded event as its payload.

Resilience is more difficult to achieve in an event-driven system due to the short-lived nature of event consumption chains: when processing is set in motion and listeners are attached in order to react to and transform the result, these listeners typically handle success or failure directly and in the sense of reporting back to the original client. Responding to the failure of a component in order to restore its proper function, on the other hand, requires a treatment of these failures that is not tied to ephemeral client requests, but that responds to the overall component health state.


In concurrent programming an algorithm is considered non-blocking if threads competing for a resource do not have their execution indefinitely postponed by mutual exclusion protecting that resource. In practice this usually manifests as an API that allows access to the resource if it is available otherwise it immediately returns informing the caller that the resource is not currently available or that the operation has been initiated and not yet completed. A non-blocking API to a resource allows the caller the option to do other work rather than be blocked waiting on the resource to become available. This may be complemented by allowing the client of the resource to register for getting notified when the resource is available or the operation has completed.


A protocol defines the treatment and etiquette for the exchange or transmission of messages between components. Protocols are formulated as relations between the participants to the exchange, the accumulated state of the protocol and the allowed set of messages to be sent. This means that a protocol describes which messages a participant may send to another participant at any given point in time. Protocols can be classified by the shape of the exchange, some common classes are request–reply, repeated request–reply (as in HTTP), publish–subscribe, and stream (both push and pull).

In comparison to local programming interfaces a protocol is more generic since it can include more than two participants and it foresees a progression of the state of the message exchange; an interface only specifies one interaction at a time between the caller and the receiver.

It should be noted that a protocol as defined here just specifies which messages may be sent, but not how they are sent: encoding, decoding (i.e. codecs), and transport mechanisms are implementation details that are transparent to the components’ use of the protocol.


Executing a component simultaneously in different places is referred to as replication. This can mean executing on different threads or thread pools, processes, network nodes, or computing centers. Replication offers scalability, where the incoming workload is distributed across multiple instances of a component, or resilience, where the incoming workload is replicated to multiple instances which process the same requests in parallel. These approaches can be mixed, for example by ensuring that all transactions pertaining to a certain user of the component will be executed by two instances while the total number of instances varies with the incoming load, (see Elasticity).


Everything that a component relies upon to perform its function is a resource that must be provisioned according to the component’s needs. This includes CPU allocation, main memory and persistent storage as well as network bandwidth, main memory bandwidth, CPU caches, inter-socket CPU links, reliable timer and task scheduling services, other input and output devices, external services like databases or network file systems etc. The elasticity and resilience of all these resources must be considered, since the lack of a required resource will prevent the component from functioning when required.


The ability of a system to make use of more computing resources in order to increase its performance is measured by the ratio of throughput gain to resource increase. A perfectly scalable system is characterized by both numbers being proportional: a twofold allocation of resources will double the throughput. Scalability is typically limited by the introduction of bottlenecks or synchronization points within the system, leading to constrained scalability, see Amdahl’s Law and Gunther’s Universal Scalability Model.


A system provides services to its users or clients. Systems can be large or small, in which case they comprise many or just a few components. All components of a system collaborate to provide these services. In many cases the components are in a client–server relationship within the same system (consider for example front-end components relying upon back-end components). A system shares a common resilience model, by which we mean that failure of a component is handled within the system, delegated from one component to the other. It is useful to view groups of components within a system as subsystems if they are isolated from the rest of the system in their function, resources or failure modes.


We use this term informally to refer to any consumer of a service, be that a human or another service.

↑ Back To Top